0,00
0

PUCCINI'S "TURANDOT" EBOOK

WILLIAM ASHBROOK ,

HAROLD POWERS

Ópera

Música

Unfinished at Puccinis death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccinis last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments o…
Unfinished at Puccinis death in 1924, Turandot was not only his most ambitious work, but it became the last Italian opera to enter the international repertory. In this colorful study two renowned music scholars demonstrate that this work, despite the modern climate in which it was written, was a fitting finale for the centuries-old Great Tradition of Italian opera. Here they provide concrete instances of how a listener might encounter the dramatic and musical structures of Turandot in light of the Italian melodramma, and firmly establish Puccinis last work within the tradition of Rossini, Bellini, Donizetti, and Verdi. In a summary of the sounds, sights, and symbolism of Turandot, the authors touch on earlier treatments of the subject, outline the conception, birth, and reception of the work, and analyze its coordinated dramatic and musical design. Showing how the evolution of the libretto documents Puccinis reversion to large musical forms typical of the Great Tradition in the late nineteenth century, they give particular attention to his use of contrasting Romantic, modernist, and two kinds of orientalist coloration in the general musical structure. They suggest that Puccinis inability to complete the opera resulted mainly from inadequate dramatic buildup for Turandots last-minute change of heart combined with an overly successful treatment of the secondary character.

Información extra

Detalles del producto
Ficha técnica
Precio mínimo garantizado
Envío gratis a partir de 19 €
Recogida en librería gratis
Devoluciones gratis hasta 14 días
Recibe nuestras novedades en libros en tu email
Descuentos en libros, últimos títulos publicados y mucho más.
Espasa Calpe, S.A. y Tagus Books, S.L., tratarán tus datos personales para gestionar la relación contigo y para remitirte, por cualquier medio, información y comunicaciones comerciales sobre nuestros productos y servicios similares a los solicitados. Los datos sólo se cederán a empresas de nuestro grupo si nos das tu consentimiento y nunca a empresas ajenas al mismo. Tienes derecho a acceder, rectificar y suprimir los datos, así como a otros derechos, como se explica en nuestra política de privacidad.
MaevaRandom House MondadoriGrupo PlanetaImpedimenta